Website Manager

FC Surge Women's Soccer

You Are Here : Home

News Detail


Sep, 2019


FC Surge garnered several post season WPSL awards based on their undefeated regular season.  Surge was named Sunshine Conference Franchise of the Year and won a Best Instagram Stories nod.  Individually, players Eva Castano Candela was Co-Offensive Player of the Year for the conference and five Surge players made the All Conference Team - Eva, April Perry, Chrissy Gratz, Krissy Fisher, and Christina Velasquez. April and Christina V were constants in a back line that only let in 1 goal during the 7 game regular season.  Eva, Chrissy and Krissy scored 13 of the teams 22 goals. 

The Surge finished the regular season undefeated in 2nd place and moved on to South Regionals, losing in the Sweet 16 to the eventual League Champion Pensacola FC.  This was Surge's 7th season in the WPSL and the best so far, led by fourth year head Coach Ramiro Vengoechea.

Ten Surge players headed back to college recently Krissy Fisher (UM), Flor Baldassini (Stetson), Christina Velasquez (FIU), Chama Silva (NSU), Bri Austin (Villanova), Amanda Martin (South Carolina), Hunter Koziara (Kentucky), Hunter Matson (Bucknell), Nina Fernandez (Catholic), and Stephany Diaz (Anderson) while Eva moves on to a professional career with KAA Ghent in Belgium.  
Copyright © 2023 FC Surge
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In